Review: Throne of Glass (Series)

Title: Throne of Glass (Series)

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: YA / Fantasy / Romance

Pages: All eight books combined have a total of over 4,800 pages

Rating:  ★★★★☆

When magic has gone from the world, and a vicious king rules from his throne of glass, an assassin comes to the castle. She does not come to kill, but to win her freedom. If she can defeat twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition to find the greatest assassin in the land, she will become the king’s champion and be released from prison. 

Her name is Celaena Sardothien. 

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. And a princess from a foreign land will become the one thing she never thought she’d have again: a friend. But something evil dwells in the castle-and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying, horribly, one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the source of the evil before it destroys her world.

It’s hard to know where to even begin when it comes to reviewing this epic series. With eight books and over 4,800 pages to read, the Throne of Glass series will certainly keep you busy for awhile. In saying that, when I finally finished the lengthy final book, I was left with an empty feeling in my heart that longed to read more about the characters who I had come to know – and love – so well.

This series has had me laughing, had me crying, and had me on the edge of my seat more times than I can count. There were so many fantastic plot-twists that left me totally blind-sided – Sarah J. Maas certainly knows how to weave a complex storyline. There’s also some really, really steamy love-scenes, so get your romance goggles on and prepare yourself for some, ah, ‘guttural’ noises and growling. Lol.

There are so many elements to this series that I could discuss, I could probably write a thesis on it if I were to talk about all the themes and general wonderfulness… but I’ll try to keep this short-ish.

One of the things that really impressed be about this series is the way the characters develop over time. Even though there are eight large books, only a year (or at most, two) passes throughout the entire series. In this time, we get to fall in love with so many wonderful characters.

The main character, Celaena, is a smart-mouthed, total bad-ass, infamous assassin. I’ll admit that in the first book, she kind of grated on me a bit. She is rude, arrogant, and kinda selfish. But the great thing about her is that she really grows as a character throughout the series. I mean… she’s Celeana, so she’s always going to be a total smart ass, but she goes from being this bratty girl-assassin to a (oops this is kind of a spoiler so watch out)… freaking fire-breathing, warrior queen. And it’s just so good. Like, so, so good.

And then there’s all the others; Rowan (yum), Manon (Manon! I love Manon. She has to have the best character arc out of them all), Fenrys, Lysandra (best female friendship development ever), Elide, Prince Dorian (extra yum), Chaol, Yrene, Lorcan, Kaltain… I could just go on and on, but you will seriously come to know and love all these characters. And the way they all change over time, and they just… I don’t know… flourish. It’s fabulous. Your heart will feel everything they feel.

Then on the other side of things, there’s the villains. They honestly just keep getting worse and worse, scarier and scarier. If you’re like me reading this series you will constantly be wondering how the hell our beloved main characters are going to manage to save themselves, let alone the world. Because it all just seems so impossible and overwhelming, and you sort of just want to wrap them all up in a hug and say ‘everything’s going to be okay my darlings’.

Sarah J. Maas is truly a master of world-building and characterisation. Reading this series feels like being transported to another place. Erilea just about feels like a second home to me. It is a truly awesome experience. Everything from the setting, the history of the place, the culture, and the magic just seems so real and on point.

My only complaint out of this whole series is that, I felt that a few of the books could have definitely been a lot shorter. For example Tower of Dawn felt as though it literally could have been squeezed in amongst the pages of Empire of Storms, just as a couple of side-notes or flashes, and we wouldn’t have really missed much. Some of the books do drag themselves out a bit and there definitely could have been some much faster pacing. But there was always some twist or big reveal at the end of each book that made reading them seem worth it, so in hindsight it’s not a huge complaint. And besides, now I’m sitting here wishing there was more to read, so… am I even complaining about anything at all? Now I’m not so sure.

Overall, the Throne of Glass series is a fantastic read. My rating for the entire series is 4 out of 5 stars. It’s a big time investment, but once you’re into this series, trust me, you’ll be well and truly enthralled and you won’t want it to end.

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s